MTB Project Logo

Using MTB Project to navigate a trail


Original Post
Clark Hagel · · Minneapolis, MN · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 15

How do you use this app to navigate a trail? I use my phone to select a trail that I want Yo ride but can't figure out how to actually use it for navigation.

Brian Smith · · Boulder, CO · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 5,558

Clark - The app will show your location on a trail while you're riding. You can also see your location on the elevation profile to get an idea of how much climbing/descending is ahead of you. Does that answer your question?

Clark Hagel · · Minneapolis, MN · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 15

Hi, yes thank you. So it basically uses your phones GPS and correlates with the gpx file in the app, I take it.

Brian Smith · · Boulder, CO · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 5,558

Yup - exactly. And because the GPS tracks for the states you've downloaded are stored locally, it works without cell service.

Jayson Hurd · · Highlands Ranch · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 0

I used it for this type of thing last year quite a bit. Often the position would not update. I am not sure whether this was a bug in the previous version or my phone's GPS. Closing and restarting the app would fix it. I believe I have a newer version this year and will try it out soon on some longer rides.

Kyle Kai · · San Diego, CA · Joined May 2015 · Points: 9

If you're talking about an iPhone, sometimes it takes a minute or two to update your location. That's partly because while you have the phone locked (in sleep mode), the GPS does not update to preserve battery power. Then when you activate the app, the phone has to obtain your position and show it on the map. If you're in a canyon or an area that may block the GPS, it may take longer.

Doug Brown · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 0

None of my phones seem to allow any on-trail navigation. I have had two android phones, use the app constantly, and never have I seen a "blue dot." My "location" thing is "on." The triangle button that seems like it would locate my position is always dead. I REALLY love this app, and use it, and recommend it all the time, but can not seem to utilize this essential function. (BTW ... lost a trail due to snow pack last week and spent 3 hours walking in the woods looking for trail. This feature would have dialed me in.)

Ben Voytko · · Pittsburgh, PA · Joined May 2013 · Points: 2,071

Never had this problem myself doug, but if it's misbehaving you may want to consider deleting the app and re-installing. I've had to do that once or twice in the past when I had issues (typically with map data not updating), though I'm on iOS.

Might want to try this first: For android, you can configure permissions for each app separately. Go to: Settings - Apps - MTB Project - Permissions - Location  and see if it's selected. You can see screenshots in this article on how to configure permissions (it's a security site, so it's got a lot of information about how to disable permissions more than enable). https://www.kaspersky.co.uk/blog/android-permissions-guide/8388/

Doug Brown · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 0

Ben ... Holy balogni. That did it. Feeling like a dunce, but I didn't know that permission was necessary. Glad I posted. Thanks. I GOT THE DOT!!!!

Ben Voytko · · Pittsburgh, PA · Joined May 2013 · Points: 2,071

Awesome Doug, Glad to help!

Guideline #1: Don't be a jerk.

Post a Reply to "Using MTB Project to navigate a trail"
in the MTB Project Feedback & Suggestions

Log In to Reply