MTB Project Logo

Trail etiquette - total newbie

Original Post
David Wallace · · Huntington Beach, CA · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 0

Hey all, just started trail riding and I am having a blast.

What is the proper up hill/down hill right of way for a single track trail?

I am guessing that on fire roads and dual track trails you follow the normal driving customs for your country. Here in the US it's stay right if necessary/applicable, pass on the left, give a little warning if possible (ring bell/shout out).

Adam Kagy · · Victor, ID · Joined Sep 2007 · Points: 2,941

on doubletrack, yea just stay right, passing is no problem. On singletrack always yield to the uphill rider. Always yield regardless for horses and hikers.

Aaron Caveglia · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2013 · Points: 548

What Adam mentioned are the official IMBA standards for trail etiquette. I'll add to that:

Uphill traffic has the right of way for a few good reasons. It's harder to start from a stop going uphill than downhill. Climbers are often looking down, winded, tired, or not paying as much attention as someone descending should. If you're descending, you should be scanning far ahead, and you'll often spot someone long before they spot you. It's your responsibility to control your own speed.

With horses, stop a good distance away and ask the horse's rider how she wants to handle the situation. Sometimes they'll walk past, sometimes an equestrian might ask you to walk your bike past, etc. Be super cool and friendly about it. The key is to stop and let them control the situation. No one wants a startled beast.