MTB Project Logo

automated conditions

Original Post
Preston Jordan · · Albany, CA · Joined Jan 2018 · Points: 613

Hi-

I just bought my first smart phone (my flip phone buttons were starting to fail and my family has been on me for years to get a smart phone so they can more readily track me and call the cleanup crew if I stack too badly).

I started riding in 1983.  For decades I have envisioned an automated trail conditions system. Experiencing the capabilities of a smart phone, I think the time has arrived to offer the concept. After looking around at platforms, I picked MTB project for rolling out this suggestion. I have been an REI member for over thirty years, and I like that the MTB project does not have a pushy social networking or competitive aspect, and is not for profit.

There are a number approaches to automating trail conditions. To start with, the simplest would be for the MTB project mapping system to ingest the total precipitation data for the past 1, 7, 14, 30, and 60 days from NOAA (https://water.weather.gov/precip/download.php) and map these onto trails in some manner. Cumulative precipitation over various previous length periods is highly correlated to trail conditions. I don't really care if it is raining at the moment or might rain in the near future when I am riding, which is the focus of all the weather apps I have browsed. Riding in whatever conditions come is part of the fun for me.