"Cancel" button/link actions inconsistent on Share a Photo and Add Symbol pages


Original Post
Andrew James · · Bathurst, Not set (NSW) · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 255

The cancel link on the Share a Photo page does not allow you to navigate away from the page, it links to https://www.mtbproject.com/share/photo (the page you're already on). A minor annoyance given you can click on the MTB Project logo to go back to the homepage like the cancel link on Add Trail would do.

The cancel link on Add Symbol links to Share a Photo as well. This doesn't appear to be intended.

Zander Göpfert · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 3,966

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the feedback! I've noticed that the cancel button returns you to the last page you were looking at - does that seem to match your experience? Please let me know so we can investigate further if there's an underlying bug at play.

Thanks!

Andrew James · · Bathurst, Not set (NSW) · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 255

Hi Zander,

It looks like all cancel links now point to the homepage. The share a photo and edit symbol cancel links point to https://www.mtbproject.com even when navigating directly from one page to the other (for example when loading https://www.mtbproject.com/share/photo then clicking on the profile image, share your trails, add symbol to navigate to https://www.mtbproject.com/edit/symbol the cancel link on this page points to the homepage, not the share photo page). If this is not intended then there still may be an issue but personally I don't see this behaviour as a problem.

Andrew James · · Bathurst, Not set (NSW) · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 255

Further testing and it's not as simple as I thought unfortunately.

Create (a) Ride or Trail  - Cancel links point to the MTB Project homepage no matter the source (all cancel links at any point in the process for both GPS and hand-drawn trails or rides).

Share (a) Photo, Share Video, Add Symbol - When loading any of these pages a cookie is set (if and only if it doesn't already exist) called "savedReferrer" with the url of the page you were last on. This URL is used for the cancel link on these pages. Essentially the first time you visit one of these pages it saves the page you were looking at, then any other time you load these pages in the same browser session it uses the address of that page instead of whatever you were most recently viewing.

Guideline #1: Don't be a jerk.

Post a Reply

Log In to Reply